Weeks 12-27 (oh god has it been that long?) Postmortem

Um…yeah…I guess my excuse is that my wife and I added a third party to the family?

Anyway (stop looking at me like that), it’s been over two months since I last did one of these and, in my opinion, it has been far, far too long. Now, where were we…

Week 12 I did 7,800 words between the blog and fiction and week 13 I only did 1,700; those were the last numbers I had recorded. The end of March was very busy with getting things ready for the boy’s imminent arrival and on March 31st he decided it was time, finally being born on the 1st of April (many of our friends didn’t believe what was happening until I started posting pictures from labor and delivery to Facebook; they all thought it was some elaborate prank).

Since mid-March I’ve been working on a very small number of projects, mostly because I’ve been focused on work and family and making sure I have the energy for both. As reported, “Toll Booth” was completed, edited, submitted, and accepted (yay!). Since then I’ve started a few different projects and, until last night, hadn’t finished any of them. I completed the final draft of “On Mind-Swept Winds” and will sent that off but was unfortunately rejected.

Burning Wick has been stalled although not for any other reason other than that I haven’t quite worked up to the word count-per-day that would let me work on that and short fiction at the same time. I submitted a few pages to the writing group in June and they continue to like it and, even better, so do I. I’m really looking forward to getting back to that and if I can manage to get myself up and out of bed at a reasonable hour (oh, the life of a new parent on baby-bonding leave is so, so cruel *swoon*) I’ll work on that for an hour each day and leave the night time for short stories.

With the year a little over half-way done, here’s how I’m doing on the goals for this year:
1. One short story a month, edited and complete, push is two written (the edited may be dodgy as my usual editor is also becoming a first-time parent in February)

Well, there’s seven “completes” down there and it’s July so I’d say I’m on track, which isn’t too bad considering I didn’t write for essentially two and a half months. I have a few short stories I’ll probably finish this month as well so I’ll be back to being ahead again shortly (or, at least, I hope to be). Also, the editrix had her kid who is adorable.

2. Submit every completed and edited story until I’ve either exhausted the markets it’d be good for or it sells

Been really bad about this. Need to get “Round & Round” and “Nature/Nurture” edited and start sending them out.

3. Continue to do at least fifteen hundred words a night on the novel(s) in addition to at least five hundred words a night on short stories, push is two thousand a night on novels and one thousand a night on shorts.

Was hitting this at the end of February beginning of March but, as noted, with end-of-pregnancy, labor, birth of first child, raising of first child, working, trying to sleep, trying to remember what sleep was like, taking care of wife, and taking care of self I’ve fallen a bit behind on this goal. Working to build it back up but it’s slow going, I expect it’ll be another month or so before I’m back where I was before Connor was born.

4. Read two novels a month

I was doing ok with this until Connor was born and I’ve been slowly getting back into reading. Read Feed by Mira Grant and Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie last month but I still need to catch up for what I missed in April and May.

5. Two sales

Half done! With my sale to Space Tramps I realized half this goal. I could have swore I decided to shoot for three submissions as my goal since I had two sales last year. Oh well, we’ll change it to three so I’m a third there.

6. Accepted to Clarion (Ha! Why not?)

Didn’t apply for a few reasons. The first was that I didn’t really have the stories ready to submit and I’d rather not blow the $50 application fee on two stories I know weren’t going to stand a chance of getting me in. The second, and bigger reason, was I had to be honest with myself: I didn’t want to miss this time with Connor. He’s only going to be a baby once and this experience has been amazing; I wouldn’t trade it for anything, even Clarion.

7. Finish the first, rough draft of Burning Wick before Connor is born

Repeat after me: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Yes, this did not get done, mostly because February was rough and couldn’t make up for it in March. I’m about 30k away. Need to get through the short stories I want to write then I’ll be getting back to it.

Approximate Total First Draft Words for 2011: 143,632
BW: 88,247
OS v1: 8,330 (Complete, edited and submitted, 7,894)
R&R: 6,260 (Complete, first round of edits done, 5,896)
N/N: 4,150 (Complete, first round of edits done, 4,203)
SOAMv2: 7,355 (Complete)
TB: 10,403 (Complete, edited and submitted, accepted, 8,939)
OMSW: 11,000 (approximately, didn’t keep track of first draft version) (Complete, edited, submitted, 9,284)
MoD: 5,706 (Complete)

Trunked, unfinished, seeds:
WS: 6,926 (trunked)
P/E: 700
SoAMv1: 1,139 (crap, it’s all crap)
TC: 3,276
JotS: 484
PS: 1,273
TCS: 2,869

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

