Weeks 29 and 30 postmortem

The amount of writing/writing related stuff I’m doing each day continues to improve and for that I’m happy.

I rewrote sections of “Son of All Monsters” and submitted it to the writing group and the response was favorable; the editrix said it was probably my best use of emotion yet and my friend Nate said that he really enjoyed the story. Considering the editrix likes to bring “the truthiness” when she reviews my work (read: she’s not afraid to tell me if it’s dog vomit) I’m happy with how it turned out. It of course needs editing and some tweaking but it’ll be good to submit by the end of the week.

Also in this time I finished “Fish Tales”, a story about mythic fish, that I’ll be submitting to Dagon Books’ Fish anthology once it’s edited.

I started two other shorts, “Fog of War” and “Sinseer”. “FoW” I’m tabling for now. I like it, I like the characters, but I need to put some more polish on the concept before I do a rewrite (what I have is ok, but it could be better). “Sinseer” I just started yesterday and I’m already almost 1.5k into it. It’s shaping up to probably wrap up in another 1.5k at most, nice and short and hopefully tight.

Still waiting to hear back from a couple of things that have been sent out but I have some high hopes for one or two of them, we’ll see how they turn out. Otherwise it’s pretty much been business as usual. Week 30 was my last week of paid family leave and now I’m back at work, which may impact my writing by making me a brain-dead zombie by 5 PM. California has this awesome program where if your family has a new child, or adopts a child, each parent can take up to six weeks at any time during that child’s first year with the family. It’s paid by the state at disability levels, so not great but something is better than nothing, and the time is protected, meaning that my job has to be held until I get back. Not that Das Employa has any plans to get rid of me (I hope) but, still, it’s a very nice benefit.

Approximate Total First Draft Words for 2011: 144,460
BW: 88,247
OS v1: 8,330 (Complete, edited and submitted, 7,894)
R&R: 6,260 (Complete, first round of edits done, 5,896)
N/N: 4,150 (Complete, first round of edits done, 4,203)
SOAMv2: 7,355 (Complete)
TB: 10,403 (Complete, edited and submitted, accepted, 8,939)
OMSW: 11,000 (approximately, didn’t keep track of first draft version) (Complete, edited, submitted, 9,284)
MoD: 5,706 (Complete)
FT: 4,025 (Complete)
Sin: 1,393

Trunked, unfinished, seeds:
WS: 6,926 (trunked)
P/E: 700
SoAMv1: 1,139 (crap, it’s all crap)
TC: 3,276
JotS: 484
PS: 1,273
TCS: 2,869
FoW: 5,710

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

