2011 & 2012

Well, here we are on the first day of the new year, 2012 all shiny and new, glistening with promise having just slid free of it’s time sack.

I was going for some kind of alien-esque analogy but I’m not certain it worked.

Anyway, why not start off the first post of the new year by taking a look at the corpse of last year.

2011 was, in some ways, a mixed bag.

On the one hand it was very successful. Two publications, some good reviews of Cthulhurotica, and some projects that I’m honestly proud of.

On the other, I don’t feel that I did as well as I could’ve. Sure, things happened during the course of the year *coughcoughmysoncoughcough* that led to some big changes, stress, fatigue, and a number of other factors that impacted my writing but, to be honest, I just haven’t been as focused on it in these last few months aside from NaNo (which I completed). Could I have done better? Yes. Should I have done better? Yes. Will I do better? Gods yes. So, why don’t we take the (painful) look at my goals for last year and see how I did.

1. One short story a month, edited and complete, push is two written (the edited may be dodgy as my usual editor is also becoming a first-time parent in February)

How’d I do: Well, I have nine completed short stories down there so I made three-fourths of this goal. Had a number of stories I started and didn’t finish, some because the idea wasn’t quite jelling, some because they were crap, although not as many as I had last year.

2. Submit every completed and edited story until I’ve either exhausted the markets it’d be good for or it sells

How’d I do: Yeah…no.

3. Continue to do at least fifteen hundred words a night on the novel(s) in addition to at least five hundred words a night on short stories, push is two thousand a night on novels and one thousand a night on shorts.

How’d I do: In 2010 I wrote, approximately, 111,350 first draft words. This year I wrote, not including blog posts here (which I was counting for a while), 209,499 words. If I threw in blog posts this number would be higher and while I do consider those to be “writing”, I don’t feel like going through each post and getting a word count to add to that total. Suffice to say, I’m pretty sure I can say I wrote double this past year than I did the year before, which I think is a pretty noteworthy accomplishment. Also, writing a quarter of a million words in a year isn’t something that many people (I think) can say for themselves so I’ll be happy about that.

But what about the goal? Well, 209,499 translates to about 574 words a day. Ouch. Even if I threw in blog posts that maybe, maybe, raised that word count closer to 250k that only makes 685 words a day. So I didn’t even come close to this goal.

4. Read two novels a month

How did I do: This one I did better on. I think I managed to finish two novels a month until June and then one book a month after that. Will have to do more.

5. Two sales

How did I do: This one I did.

6. Accepted to Clarion (Ha! Why not?)

How did I do: Didn’t apply because doing so, if I got in, would mean I’d have to chose between Clarion and a significant portion of Connor’s early life and development. I chose my son. I don’t think I made the wrong choice.

7. Finish the first, rough draft of Burning Wick before Connor is born

How did I do: *looks at the word count of Burning Wick, which sits dreaming in its folder on my flash drive, sighs*

All in all, not that great. I think I’ll just stick to being happy about writing double last year than the year before.

So, what about this next year? Well, I think I’ll keep the goals I had from last year but chance the seventh to “by the end of March” since Connor’s not going to be born twice. Can I double my writing from last year? Hell, twelve hundred words a day isn’t that much. Let’s see.

Final, Approximate Total First Draft Words for 2011: 209,499
BW: 88,247
OS v1: 8,330 (Complete, edited and submitted, 7,894)
R&R: 6,260 (Complete, first round of edits done, 5,896)
N/N: 4,150 (Complete, first round of edits done, 4,203)
SOAMv2: 7,355 (Complete)
TB: 10,403 (Complete, edited and submitted, accepted, 8,939)
OMSW: 11,000 (approximately, didn’t keep track of first draft version) (Complete, edited, submitted, 9,284)
MoD: 5,706 (Complete)
FT: 4,025 (Complete)
Muse: 4,700 (approximately) (Complete, edited, 4330)

Trunked, unfinished, seeds:
WS: 6,926 (trunked)
P/E: 700
SoAMv1: 1,139 (crap, it’s all crap)
TC: 3,276
JotS: 484
PS: 1,273
Sin: 1,393
TCS: 2,869
FoW: 5,710
Tear Away Heart: 5,000 approximately
May/December: 3,415
Nursery Boogies: 50,083
HH: 304
Sin: 1,393

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

