I hate you, James, for making me do this…

I’m going to come right out and say it: I’m going to read Twilight.

*hangs head*

Yes, I’m going to read that steaming pile of purple prose.

“Matt, why in the name of all that is good in the world, in the names of Tolkein, Stross, and Bradbury, would you do that to yourself.”

Because James, the husband of a friend, confronted me on the fact that I have a very negative opinion of something I’ve not actually read and that if I wanted to have an opinion about something, I should at least have experienced that thing I’m having an opinion about. He wasn’t defending Twilight, he’s read the series and thinks they’re complete garbage, but he was right; if I’m going to trash a book, I should at least read the book (as opposed to the many exerpts and reviews I’ve read) first.

So, Cthulhu help me, in March I will be starting the “Thirty(-One) Days of NightTwilight” project. Over the course of March I will read Twilight daily at a pace that will let me finish by the end of the month. Weekly I will be posting my thoughts on the book, updating a SPARKLE! count to see how many times Stephanie Meyer really did use the word, and by the end I will have experienced Twilight, for better or worse.

I hate you, James. I hate you a lot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I hate you, James, for making me do this…

  1. jfrieden says:

    You are certifiable. I will never read it. Thr plot synopsis on wikipedia was all I could take.

  2. Kate says:

    You’ll make it, Matt – I have faith in your determination. I did the same thing with “The Hunger Games”, though I admit they’re not as bad as Twilight … reading them didn’t change my opinion, but did make me a more informed critic. I salute your courage!

    • mattmarovich says:

      Thanks, Kathleen. I don’t know if I’ll read any of the sequels, we’ll have to see how I feel after the first.

  3. Pingback: An update to the March Twilight Insanity | Two Pens

Leave a Reply

