PODCAST!!!

Tyler and I recorded the first episode of the Your Book is Why Daddy Drinks podcast. It’s long-ish because we were talking about two books and we received a large response to our request for questions for us to discuss. Hopefully you will forgive any poor performance on my part, I’m new to the whole podcasting thing.

You can listen to the podcast here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PODCAST!!!

  1. I listened to much of the ‘cast and was duly entertained, especially considering I’ve read neither book. I would like you/Tyler to comment on the sociology of two grown men commenting/critiquing a book that is targeted to women as most broad category and teenage girls at the more narrow end. Your comments are certainly relevant and, as I said, entertaining, but the fact that you’re outside the target audience I think has something to do with your utter inability to enjoy the books.
    To that point, on the question of Mary Sue-ness (or the wish fulfillment of the writer as main character): THAT’S THE POINT OF A ROMANCE NOVEL! The reader is supposed to identify just enough with the main character that all of the swooning, denial, and eventual incredibly satisfying sex feels like it is happening to you. I promise you, this stuff would have been pure gold when I was sixteen: two stoic manly men starting the werewolf vs. vampire war over little ole, plain jane me? Where do I sign up? The Mary Sue ness isn’t a critique in this genre, it is a selling point.
    Consider. Discuss. I’ll tune in next time for more of you and Tyler making drinking references and disapproving of things.
    Oh, and Tyler: Thank you for the Brunching Shuttlecocks Geek Hierarchy reference. I have that chart on my fridge. It is comedy gold.

  2. flitterkit says:

    For the next podcast, perhaps you can adjust the mike? Not sure of the setup, but there were many points where I had to adjust the volume, the two of you were very different. 😦

    Otherwise entertaining and much fun. Thanks!

    • mattmarovich says:

      Yeah, we noticed that issue after the fact. The problem is we’re not using the same mic, we’re using Skype and a program called CallBurner to record the call because we’re separated by a couple hundred miles. When I listened to my recording the loudness was reversed; I was faint and Tyler was louder. I think it might be a mic in volume setting issue, so we’re going to mess with it some next time we record.

      Any other feedback, suggestions, things you’d like to hear? I’m glad you liked it!

  3. A Bear says:

    I do have a book suggestion; it’s D&D related, which ties in to your other podcast, and it is a terrible book on so many levels. I’m even willing to BUY two copies of the book for you if you promise to do an episode on it. I suggest to you:

    The Kobold Wizard’s Dildo of Enlightenment +2

    It’s a quick read and not for the faint of heart. Let me know if you’d like to take me up on the offer.

    • mattmarovich says:

      How could we possibly refuse a book about kobolds and dildos? We’re recording tonight and I’ll bring it up; knowing Ty I’m sure he’ll be down, especially if we don’t have to spend money. Thanks for the suggestion and offer.

  4. Dario says:

    There is nothing, but NOTHING, as bad as THE EYE OF ARGON. Really. Strongly recommended! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Eye_of_Argon

Leave a Reply

