Traveling with the new setup

Written late last night in my spooky hotel room

Well, the reason why you haven’t heard much from me over the past few days is due to travel.

You see, I’m in Missouri. I’d like to post some sort of clever joke about Missouri here but I’m afraid the unrelenting fried food and dead animal has sapped much of my creativity. The closest thing to a truly healthy meal I’ve had was the dinner my mother-in-law cooked for us last night (which was awesome).

Is it sad that one of the reasons I’m looking forward to being home is a salad? A big salad, full of leafy greens, chopped carrots, and the only meat in sight is cut up chicken…oh, wait, blogging.

That’s not to say that I haven’t enjoyed the other food I’ve had while on this trip. Far from it in fact. My friends from the Midwest all said that I had to try Waffle House’s hash browns and I will go out on a limb to say they’re the best I’ve had that weren’t made at home (or a home). We had some very good steaks on Sunday night when we got in and tonight we had authentic, genuine Kansas City BBQ.

You know that urban legend about how John Wayne died, stuff to the gills with half a cow’s worth of meat?

That’s how I feel.

We’ve been staying in a hotel called The Elms. A historic building, it looks like the younger sibling to the hotel from the Shining only with fewer blond twins holding hands and staring at you spookily. I’ll see if I can’t post some pictures once I’m back.

Other than traveling to “the middle” and experiencing being stuffed with enough pork that a pig farm could be resurrected from the contents of my stomach (hopefully after being removed from me in a non-Hostel-like manner), I’m also trying a new travel set up: iPad & Bluetooth keyboard.

So far the setup is working kind of nicely. My iPad is great when it comes to stuff like looking at e-mail and my google reader, Facebook, quick blogging, and tablet games. It is crap, on its own, for writing lengthy bits like this. One, I hate the touch-type on-screen keyboard; it’s awkward, slow to use, and I feel like it takes up too much screen real estate. Another thing I find irritating is that the iPad will not let you place the cursor in the middle of a word, so if you mistype and misspell a word your only option is to delete the whole thing and start over.

The Bluetooth keyboard solves all of that quite nicely. First, it eliminates the need for the on-screen keyboard. Secondly, it allows nearly all the functionality of a standard keyboard. Three, it’s super light and the weight it adds to my backpack is negligible.

Between WordPress’ app and QuickOffice I can do pretty much everything. The only frustrating thing about this is that QuickOffice, for all it’s nifty features (being able to connect all of my cloud storage so I have instant access to any of the files stored there, all from one app, plus be able to generate new MS Office docs on the spot, AND be able to save said files to .pdf if I need to? Hell yeah!), has no spell checker. Seriously, no spell check; apparently it’s a feature they haven’t integrated yet. Why such a nearly universal tool was not part of the original app, considering its purpose, is beyond me, but there you have it.

However, such a thing is rather small in the grand scheme of things; it just means I should consider everything I do in that app a rough draft not fit for being viewed by the world at large. (Still kind of irritating though).

For the keyboard I just went with Apple’s Bluetooth model. I went to a few places and tried a different models and didn’t like them so much. I thought Logitech’s fold-out model was kind of cool but, with it being connected to the iPad, it added more weight and thickness to the device; with the Apple model I can just turn off the iPad’s Bluetooth and walk away with the tablet.

Anyway, I’m going to see if I can’t go back to bed. I never sleep well in hotels and the time difference, plus my wife and child sleepily snoring in duet in the same room, makes it difficult for me to fall asleep.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traveling with the new setup

  1. rooandnate says:

    Actually, you can go mid-word. You have to touch the screen about where you want the cursor, hold your finger there for a moment, and wait. A little magnifying circle will pop up and you can directly place the cursor.

Leave a Reply

