Missing the point

Now, I generally try to keep this blog free of most things political and/or religious because, well, I have other outlets for such things. I make no bones, nor do I deny, that I’m generally a progressive liberal and wholly atheist in my world view but, in so far as this blog is concerned, such things only really come up when those views intersect with my writing, the writing of others, or media I’ve consumed (such as my review of a collection of Conan stories I read a while back). Honestly, I get into enough fights on the Internet in other places that it’s nice to keep a place pretty much free from such things; I like my patch of the Internet quiet. However, today a friend of mine sent me a blog post that I feel I must comment on, particularly because it does run afoul of something I recently reviewed and, well, the author of the blog is, if I may be so bold, sadly wrong.

Over on a blog titled “A Well-Behaved Mormon Woman”, Kathryn Skaggs pens a post about the dangerously pro-homosexual message of Disney’s Frozen. In this blog post Mrs. Skaggs puts forward a theory that the whole purpose of Frozen is to allegorically push forward the gay agenda. In short: Elsa represents a homosexual who spends all of her life closeted, kept separate and apart from “normal” life and society by her parents, who represent authority, who teach her that her powers/homosexuality is bad/not publicly acceptable, and that all of this is somehow expanded out to further comment on same sex marriage. If you know the plot of Frozen you can probably guess where the rest of her essay is going, that the song “Let It Go” is actually about coming out, there’s a hilarious bit about how Elsa’s homosexuality was threatened by her sister’s wanting to marry a man she just met and that’s why Elsa freaked out, and, well, I’m sure you can guess the rest.

First off, I’m not at all surprised that Mrs. Skaggs might have seen this; it could very well be an allegory for living as a homosexual, of having to live your life closeted and afraid, of finally having a moment of self-actualization and the ability to come out, of finally finding a place of love and acceptance of the people around you.

Of course, I’m also not surprised that Mrs. Skaggs would have seen the movie in this light considering she writes, “You think that I’ve read way too much into it, because I’m sensitive to homosexual issues, or perhaps a bit paranoid. I get that, seeing as I’ve written about homosexuality, same-sex marriage and preserving traditional marriage, frequently, here on WBMW.”

Essentially, you find what you go looking for. Mrs. Skaggs, primed for anything that might be dangerously pro-homosexuality, found exactly that.

As I said in my review, Frozen is based very loosely on the story of The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Anderson but so loosely that it has very little do with the source material plot-wise. Frozen isn’t the first movie with this message, that something strange or different might be seen as bad and/or feared by others, and so a character is hidden, removed from, or hides themselves away from the rest of the world. Tangled is one such movie where Rapunzel, because of her magic hair, is kept locked away in a tower, made fearful (sort of) of the outside world by Mother Gothel. Cinderella, similarly, is kept apart from society and the Beast in Beauty and the Beast, if one wanted to look at it that way, could be seen as a self-hating gay who is ashamed of who and what he is, keeping his true self locked away behind a fearsome persona (if, you know, you look past the fact that all three of these examples end up with a heterosexual partner).

Essentially, this isn’t a new trope put forward by Disney or, well, anyone for that matter; it’s pretty cliché.

The thing I find most sad about this post of Mrs. Skaggs is how much she misses the point. Regardless of whether or not Frozen is an allegory for homosexuality, coming out, and finding acceptance, Mrs. Skaggs doesn’t seem to get the harm done to Elsa, or Anna, by her parents. She can’t see beyond her own fear of homosexuality and her own religious views to have the empathy for those people that the movie might be speaking about; she can’t put Elsa’s situation and pain in a real world context or, if she can, she doesn’t acknowledge or care that the isolation and dysfunction is exactly what some people go through.

And how very, very bad that is. Especially when you consider that a fairly significant portion of homeless youth are homosexual and a significant portion of that population is homeless because they were driven out by religious families.

The thing I find the most ridiculous about Mrs. Skaggs is that she admits she paid to see it three times, taking her grandchildren to see it because she “promised them”. And yet this movie is so dangerous she penned an almost four thousand word essay, with embedded video and images. One would think that if it was so dangerous, that it’s marketing was so insidious in its methods to bring about acceptance of homosexuality in youth today, that she’d be impacted so strongly by it that she’d write this post then she might think, promise or not, to not take her grandchildren and thus expose them and weaken the hold on them her religion might otherwise have. She admonishes parents about the impact media has on their kids and yet she then contributes in the exact same way.

That and how much emphasis she puts on Elsa being queen, showing her lack of understanding of homosexual slang as well as noble titles.

She says all of this while saying, “Let me be very clear about one thing, I am not anti-gay nor am I here to judge homosexuals not worthy of their rightful and respectful place among society. However, I draw the line at the idea of redefining traditional marriage to include homosexual relationships, as equal. Meaning, that as a Christian, I believe that acting on same-sex attraction is contrary to God’s will, and therefore SSM should not be legalized.”

Translation: It’s not that I’m homophobic, nor am I going to say that gay people should just go back into hiding, but I draw the line at giving them anything that resembles equality because my religion, dubiously penned by Stone Age shepherds, says that two people who were made by my God acting on the love my God gave them is bad, and, so, no marriage for them.

One can only hope that her grandchildren got the message of the movie: that it is better and happier to live with and accept who you are than to lie to yourself and others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

