First Geek Dad Moment Was Amazing

I’m a proud geek and have been for all my life. It’s an integral part of my self-identity and I love everything about it. One of the things I’ve been looking forward to the most about being a father was the prospect of introducing my son to the things I geek out about: games, books, science fiction, fantasy, the “classic” geek movies, and then seeing what he picks up and geeks out about.

This Sunday we introduced Connor to Star Wars.

I don’t think I can truly express to you how happy it made me to watch him watch the movie, his eyes wide, and see his imagination fire up. No sooner had Luke and Obi-Wan made contact with Han and Chewie than our two couches in our living room became space ships. The two drumsticks from our very old Rockband drum kit became “shooters” we used to help Luke blow up the Death Star.

It was amazing and the last five hours of the weekend made up for all the struggles of the rest of it.

I can’t wait to introduce him to The Princess Bride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

