Under Pressure

In my early twenties there was a period of time called The Suck, a year and a half to two-year period where my life basically turned inside out, mostly because of my own fault. It was, until December ’09, one of the worst periods of my life and while it was difficult, and sometimes I’m surprised I made it through, I knew I needed to just keep going and things, eventually, would get better.

Three things helped me through that time (other than friends):
1. My motto and philosophy, just keep walking, the idea that if you continue on your life will get better if not, at least, just even out;
2. The ocean and the sound of the waves beating against the cliffs in Santa Cruz;
3. The song “Under Pressure” as song by Freddie Mercury and David Bowie. It pretty much existed on all of the playlists I made to get me through it.

If this doesn’t chill you right to your soul then you never had one to begin with.

Thank you, Mr. Bowie, for everything.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Under Pressure

  1. Ammy says:

    I went to high school when Ice Ice Baby came out. There were those who liked that song, and those who much preferred the song with its parent bassline. Those were my people. Those will always be my people.

    • mattmarovich says:

      Same. I still remember that tool trying, and failing, to say how his version was different.

      Answering the question of “Which musician would you bring back from the dead?” is getting more and more difficult.

Leave a Reply

